The German Lost Art Foundation is the national and international contact partner for all matters pertaining to the illegal seizure of cultural assets in Germany in the 20th century. The main activities of the Foundation focus on cultural assets confiscated by the National Socialists through persecution, in particular, from former Jewish owners (so-called “Nazi confiscated art”). The Washington Principles of 1998 serve as the basis for its efforts in this field, to which end Germany officially pledged to fulfil its historic and moral obligations in a Common Declaration in 1999. The Foundation is also responsible for investigating the war-related removal or relocation of cultural assets (so-called “looted art”) as well as the loss of cultural assets under Soviet occupation and in the GDR. The Foundation supports provenance research with research grants and provides information on reports of lost and found cultural assets via its open-access “Lost Art” database.

The German federal government, the Länder of the Federal Republic of Germany and the three national associations of local authorities founded the German Lost Art Foundation on 1 January 2015 as an incorporated foundation under civil law with headquarters in Magdeburg.

More about the Foundation »

Project funding

The German Lost Art Foundation provides financial support to projects which conduct provenance research on cultural assets that were confiscated by the Nazi regime. As a rule, all publicly funded organisations are eligible to apply for project funding. Funding can also be awarded to private museums and collections as long as they adhere to the Washington Principles and pursue research of public interest.

More information on project funding »

Lost Art-Database

The Foundation’s “Lost Art” database allows users around the world to access information on cultural assets which were displaced or relocated as a result of National Socialism and/or World War II. These also include works, particularly from former Jewish owners, which were confiscated by the Nazis or, because of gaps in their provenance history, cannot be completely ruled out as such.

Visit the “Lost Art” database »

Events

Website “Protection of Cultural Assets in Germany” and "National Cultural Treasures" database

Visit website and database »

Das Deutsche Zentrum Kulturgutverluste versteht sich national und international als zentraler Ansprechpartner zu Fragen unrechtmäßiger Entziehungen von Kulturgut in Deutschland im 20. Jahrhundert. Das Hauptaugenmerk des Zentrums gilt hierbei dem im Nationalsozialismus verfolgungsbedingt entzogenen Kulturgut insbesondere aus jüdischem Besitz (sog. NS-Raubgut). Grundlage für seine Arbeit in diesem Bereich sind die 1998 verabschiedeten Washingtoner Prinzipien, zu deren Umsetzung sich Deutschland im Sinne seiner historischen und moralischen Selbstverpflichtung bekannt hat (Gemeinsame Erklärung, 1999). Daneben zählen kriegsbedingt verlagerte Kulturgüter (sog. Beutekunst) sowie Kulturgutverluste während der sowjetischen Besatzung und in der DDR zu den Handlungsfeldern des Zentrums. Es fördert Provenienzforschung über finanzielle Zuwendungen und dokumentiert Kulturgutverluste als Such- und Fundmeldungen in seiner frei zugänglichen Datenbank „Lost Art“. Der Bund, alle Länder und die drei kommunalen Spitzenverbände haben das Zentrum zum 1. Januar 2015 als rechtsfähige Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts mit Sitz in Magdeburg gegründet.

Mehr über das Zentrum »

Projektförderung

Über finanzielle Zuwendungen unterstützt das Zentrum Projekte der Provenienzforschung bei der Suche nach NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenem Kulturgut. Grundsätzlich können alle öffentlich unterhaltenen Einrichtungen einen Antrag auf Fördermittel stellen. Gefördert werden können auch private Museen und Sammlungen, sofern sie sich zu den Washingtoner Prinzipien bekennen und von öffentlichem Interesse sind. 

Förderung von Projekten »

Formulare und Merkblätter »

Lost Art-Datenbank

Mit seiner weltweit frei zugänglichen Datenbank Lost Art dokumentiert das Zentrum Kulturgüter, die infolge des Nationalsozialismus bzw. des Zweiten Weltkrieges verbracht, verlagert oder insbesondere jüdischen Eigentümern verfolgungsbedingt entzogen wurden oder für die auf Grund von Lücken in der Herkunftsgeschichte eine solche Verlustgeschichte nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann.

Zur Lost Art-Datenbank »

Website Kulturgutschutz Deutschland und Datenbank national wertvolles Kulturgut

Zur Website und zur Datenbank »