Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

The Art Hunt! Where Are the Lost Paintings Hidden?

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Jüdisches Museum München State Bavaria Website http://www.juedisches-museum-muenchen.de/ Project type Short-term project to investigate matter of current interest Funding duration
  1. September bis Oktober 2015

Description

This provenance research project was launched in response to a live investigative report by the “Follow the Money” (FtM) team at the transmediale festival in cooperation with gebrueder beetz filmproduction, which is now documented on www.kunstjagd.com.

“A painting that was lost 77 years ago and to which more than 30 people owe their lives. A search with a completely unknown outcome. A mystery that we want to solve together with you. This is #kunstjagd.”

What many believed to be a lost painting by Otto Th. W. Stein was discovered in the possession of a private collector in Munich which matches the dimensions, year of origin, catalogue entry and the memories of the contemporary witness Edward Engelberg. Painted in 1917 in Chemnitz, it depicts Helene Stein, the artist’s first wife. It was found again damaged in Munich after the Second World War.

As part of the live investigative report, further clues to its provenance were discovered which, because of the six-week project concept, couldn’t be exhaustively researched. The evidence includes correspondence between the Munich collector and Otto Th. W. Stein, and a restoration report by the frame-making workshop Pfefferle. The goal of the project is to fill in the remaining gaps in the painting’s provenance history.

The findings were presented in the lobby of the Jewish Museum in Munich and were accompanied by the film “Die #Kunstjagd”, broadcasted on Bayerischer Rundfunk.

© Jüdisches Museum München

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Die Kunstjagd! Wo steckt das verschollene Gemälde?

Zuwendungsempfänger Jüdisches Museum München Bundesland Bayern Website http://www.juedisches-museum-muenchen.de/ Projekttyp Kurzfristiges Projekt aufgrund von aktuellem Recherchebedarf Projektlaufzeit
  1. September bis Oktober 2015

Beschreibung

Anlass der Proveniezforschung ist die transmediale Liverecherche des Teams "Follow the Money" (FtM) in Kooperation mit der Filmproduktion Gebrüder Beetz, die unter www.kunstjagd.com dokumentiert ist.

"Ein vor 77 Jahren verschollenes Gemälde, dem über 30 Menschen ihr Leben verdanken. Eine Suche, deren Ende völlig offen ist. Ein Rätsel, das wir gemeinsam mit Euch lösen wollen. Das ist die #kunstjagd."

Im Besitz eines Privatsammlers in München wurde ein Gemälde von Otto Th. W. Stein gefunden, das bezüglich der Maße, des Entstehungsjahrs, des Eintrags im Werkverzeichnis und der Erinnerung des Zeitzeugen Edward Engelberg das verschollene Gemälde sein könnte. 1917 in Chemnitz entstanden, zeigt es Helene Stein, die erste Ehefrau des Künstlers. Es tauchte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg beschädigt in München wieder auf.

Im Rahmen der Live-Recherche wurden weitere Hinweise zur Provenienz gefunden, aber aufgrund der im Konzept festgelegten Projektdauer von sechs Wochen nicht ausrecherchiert, darunter der Briefwechsel des Münchner Sammlers mit Otto Th. W. Stein und der Restaurationsbericht der Rahmenhandlung Pfefferle. Ziel ist es, die Provenienzgeschichte des Gemäldes zu vervollständigen.

Die Resultate wurden begleitend zum Film „Die #Kunstjagd“ im Bayerischen Fernsehen in einer Installation im Foyer des Jüdischen Museums München präsentiert.

© Jüdisches Museum München