Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

Tracing the sheets: The prints collection of Gertrud and Friedrich Lieber. Provenance research into works from Oldenburg State Museum prints collection

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg State Lower Saxony Website http://www.landesmuseum-ol.de/ueber-das-museum/forschung/provenienzforschung.html Lost Art-Report to the Found-Object Report of the institution Contact person Project type Long-term project to systematically investigate collection holdings Funding duration
  1. October 2015 to September 2016

Description

The one-year project “Tracing the sheets: The prints collection of Gertrud and Friedrich Lieber”, which finished on September 30, 2016, focused on the parts of the prints collection holdings that had not previously been included in provenance research at Oldenburg State Museum for Art and Cultural History. Whereas research in previous years had primarily examined the extensive paintings and furniture holdings, the second funded project now focused on the Lieber prints collection, which represents one of the most significant expansions of the prints collection at Oldenburg State Museum for Art and Cultural History. Despite this, very little research had been carried out into the collection since its inclusion in the State Museum’s holdings, and nothing was known about the Leipzig collectors Gertrud and Friedrich Lieber. Some of the inventory cards for the individual sheets are stamped “Graphik-Slg. Lieber, Oldenburg” (Lieber prints collection, Oldenburg), but this was probably done when the collection was acquired by the State Museum for Art and Cultural History. As part of the State Museum’s review of the prints collection carried out from August 1, 2012, to July 31, 2014, and research in 2014 in connection with the exhibition “From Rembrandt to Richter. Master’s sheets of the prints collection from Oldenburg State Museum”, it came to be assumed that the collectors were Gertrud and Georg Lieber. Based on this understanding, the preliminary work started for the project described here, which was consequently named “Tracing the sheets: The prints collection of Gertrud and Georg Lieber”.
The recent research activities at the State Museum, which received substantial support from Leipzig City Archives and its holdings expert Dr. Anett Müller, resulted in the past research findings having to be revised. The collector and husband of Gertrud Lieber was the teacher Carl Friedrich Lieber, who was also a collector, author and art historian. Georg Lieber was a lithographer and draftsman who also happened to live in Leipzig, but who had no connection with the Lieber prints collection and was not personally related to the collector couple. Accordingly, the project was carried out under the title “Tracing the sheets: The prints collection of Gertrud and Friedrich Lieber”. The lithographer and draftsman Georg Lieber is, however, mentioned in the final report in order to clarify any confusion between the two men.

Publication

Herkunft verpflichtet! : Die Geschichte hinter den Werken. Katalog zur Ausstellung. Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg. Oldenburg, 2017.

Exhibition

Herkunft verpflichtet! : Die Geschichte hinter den Werken. Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg. 04.11.2017 - 25.02.2017 [Link]

© Oldenburg State Museum for Art and Cultural History, September 2016

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Auf der Spur der Blätter: Die Grafiksammlung Gertrud und Friedrich Lieber. Bestände der Grafischen Sammlung des Landesmuseums Oldenburg auf dem Prüfstand der Provenienzforschung

Förderbereich NS-Raubgut Zuwendungsempfänger Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg Bundesland Niedersachsen Website http://www.landesmuseum-ol.de/ueber-das-museum/forschung/provenienzforschung.html Lost Art-Meldung zur Fundmeldung der Einrichtung Ansprechpartner Projekttyp Langfristiges Projekt zur systematischen Erschließung von Sammlungsbeständen Projektlaufzeit
  1. Oktober 2015 bis September 2016

Beschreibung

Das am 30. September 2016 beendete einjährige Projekt „Auf der Spur der Blätter: Die Grafiksammlung Gertrud und Friedrich Lieber“ befasste sich mit Teilbeständen der Grafischen Sammlung, die bislang noch nicht Bestandteil der Provenienzforschung am Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg war. Während in den Jahren zuvor vornehmlich die umfangreichen Gemälde- und Möbelbestände auf den Prüfstand gestellt worden waren, sollte sich das zweite geförderte Projekt nun der Grafiksammlung Lieber widmen, die eine der bedeutendsten Erweiterungen der Grafischen Sammlung des Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg darstellt. Nichtsdestotrotz blieb die Sammlung seit ihrer Aufnahme in die Bestände des Landesmuseums weitgehend unerforscht, auch zu dem Leipziger Sammlerehepaar gab es keinerlei Erkenntnisse. Die Inventarkarten zu den einzelnen Blättern weisen zum Teil den Stempel „Graphik-Slg. Lieber, Oldenburg“ auf, der aber vermutlich erst nach der Erwerbung am Landesmuseum gefertigt worden ist. Im Zuge der Revision der Grafischen Sammlung des Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, die vom 1. August 2012 bis 31. Juli 2014 durchgeführt wurde, und der Recherchen zur Ausstellung „Von Rembrandt bis Richter. Meisterblätter der grafischen Sammlung aus dem Landesmuseum, Oldenburg“ von 2014 entstand die Annahme, es handele sich bei dem Sammlerehepaar um Gertrud und Georg Lieber. Auf Grundlage dieser Erkenntnis erfolgten die Vorarbeiten zu dem hier beschriebenen Projekt, das folgerichtig den Titel „Auf der Spur der Blätter: Die Grafiksammlung Gertrud und Georg Lieber“ trug.
Die jüngsten Forschungen am Landesmuseum, die maßgeblich durch das Leipziger Stadtarchiv und die dortige Bestandsreferentin Frau Dr. Anett Müller unterstützt wurden, führten dazu, dass der einstige Forschungsstand nun revidiert werden musste. Bei dem Sammler und Ehemann von Getrud Lieber handelte es sich um den Oberlehrer Carl Friedrich Lieber, der zudem als Sammler, Autor und Kunstwissenschaftler tätig war. Georg Lieber war ein Lithograph und Zeichner, der zwar auch in Leipzig lebte, jedoch keine Verbindung zur Grafiksammlung Lieber hatte und in keinem verwandtschaftlichen Verhältnis zum Sammlerehepaar stand. Das Projekt muss dementsprechend unter dem Titel „Auf der Spur der Blätter: Die Grafiksammlung Gertrud und Friedrich Lieber“ geführt werden. Der Lithograph und Zeichner Georg Lieber wird im Abschlussbericht dennoch erwähnt, um eventuellen Kontextüberschneidungen Rechnung zu tragen.

Veröffentlichung

Herkunft verpflichtet! : Die Geschichte hinter den Werken. Katalog zur Ausstellung. Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg. Oldenburg, 2017.

Ausstellung

Herkunft verpflichtet! : Die Geschichte hinter den Werken. Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg. 04.11.2017 - 25.02.2017 [Link]

© Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg, September 2016