Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

Provenance Research: Max Pechstein’s "Circus Rider"

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Märkisches Museum Witten State North Rhine-Westphalia Website http://www.kulturforum-witten.de/maerkischesmuseumwitten/ Contact person
  • Christoph Kohl
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionKurator
    Telephone: +49 (0)2302 581 25 53
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAilchristoph.kohl@stadt-witten.de
Project type Short-term project to investigate matter of current interest Funding duration
  1. October 2015 to January 2016

Description

In 1956, the Märkisches Museum Witten purchased the painting “Circus Rider” (1917/19, oil on canvas/hardboard, 190 x 97 cm) by Hermann Max Pechstein (1881-1955) from a private art collector in Hagen. It was one of the acquisitions for the Expressionism collection which underwent considerable expansion after 1945.

In January 2015, the museum was presented with a restitution claim by the attorney Markus H. Stötzel on behalf of the heirs of Alfred Flechtheim. They believe that the trustee of Alfred Flechtheim’s domestic assets, Alfred E. Schulte, who was appointed in 1933, sold the painting sometime around 1935/36 to the Galerie Nierendorf. Therefore, they argue that the painting should be classified as “looted property” or “assets confiscated through Nazi persecution”.

The documents at the Märkisches Museum Witten provide no information about the historical background of the painting in those decisive years when the National Socialists ascended to power. There are only two stickers on the reverse side which indicate that the painting had indeed belonged to the Galerie Flechtheim and then later the Galerie Nierendorf in Berlin. It has not yet been determined at what point and under what circumstances the painting changed owners.

In October 2015, the Kulturforum Witten commissioned Dr. Katja Terlau to conduct provenance research on the painting by Hermann Max Pechstein with funding from the German Lost Art Foundation in Magdeburg.

© Märkisches Museum Witten

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Provenienzrecherche: Max Pechstein "Zirkusreiter"

Zuwendungsempfänger Märkisches Museum Witten Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen Website http://www.kulturforum-witten.de/maerkischesmuseumwitten/ Ansprechpartner
  • Christoph Kohl
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionKurator
    Telefon: +49 (0)2302 581 25 53
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAilchristoph.kohl@stadt-witten.de
Projekttyp Kurzfristiges Projekt aufgrund von aktuellem Recherchebedarf Projektlaufzeit
  1. Oktober 2015 bis Januar 2016

Beschreibung

1956 erwarb das Märkische Museum Witten von einem privaten Kunstsammler in Hagen das 1917/19 entstandene Gemälde „Zirkusreiter“ (Öl auf Leinwand/ Hartfaserplatte, 190 x 97 cm) von Hermann Max Pechstein (1881-1955). Es zählt zu den Erwerbungen für die Abteilung Expressionismus, die im Wesentlichen erst nach 1945 aufgebaut wurde.

Seit Januar 2015 liegt dem Museum ein Restitutionsersuchen des Rechtsanwalt Herrn Markus H. Stötzel in Vertretung der Erben von Alfred Flechtheim vor. Sie nehmen an, dass das Gemälde über den seit 1933 eingesetzten Verwalter des Flechtheimschen Inlandsvermögens Alfred E. Schulte, zu einem unbekannten Zeitpunkt um 1935/1936 an die Galerie Nierendorf veräußert wurde und es sich damit um „Raubkunst“ bzw. „NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenes Vermögen“ handelt.

Die Unterlagen des Märkischen Museum Witten geben hinsichtlich der entscheidenden Jahre der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten keine Auskunft zur Geschichte des Bildes. Lediglich zwei Aufkleber auf der Rückseite weisen darauf hin, dass sich das Gemälde zunächst in der Galerie Flechtheim und später in der Galerie Nierendorf in Berlin befunden hat. Wann und unter welchen Umständen das Werk die Besitzer gewechselt hat ist bislang nicht belegt.

Das Kulturforum Witten beauftragte daher im Oktober 2015, gefördert von dem Deutschen Zentrum Kulturgutverluste in Magdeburg, Frau Dr. Katja Terlau mit der Provenienzrecherche zum Gemälde von Hermann Max Pechstein.

© Märkisches Museum Witten