Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

Investigation of the Provenance of all Objects in the Lübben Museum Collection for Which There is Cause for Suspicion that Transfer of Ownership Is Linked to Nazi Persecution between 1933 and 1945

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Stadt- und Regionalmuseum im Schloss Lübben State Brandenburg Website http://www.museum-luebben.de/ Contact person Project type Long-term project to systematically investigate collection holdings Funding duration
  1. February 2016 to January 2017

Description

Initial questions and project objectives

From October to December 2014, the Museumsverband Brandenburg carried out a short-term provenance research project (“initial check” project) in town and regional museums in the state of Brandenburg. It was funded by the Bureau for Provenance Research. As part of this project, the first-ever investigation was carried out into the Lübben museum collection for objects suspected of having had questionable ownership between 1933 and 1945. In particular, the visual inspection of several of the objects prompted questions that had not arisen when looking at the catalogs and inventories alone, e.g. on the noticeable signatures of previous owners such as Moreau Cohn, the Wendish church, etc. The initial check assessment had been provided to the German Lost Art Foundation in 2015 and formed the basis for the longer-term provenance research project.

The Lübbener Stadt- und Regionalmuseum (Lübben town and regional museum) was established in 1906 as the Städtische Altertümer-Sammlung (Antiquities Collection). It was re-established for the third time between 1997 and 2001 following its destruction and the end of the war in 1945 and its closure again in 1968. Around 15,000 objects in total have been retrieved or newly acquired since 1997.

The present-day collection is divided into zoology, botany, geology/mineralogy, prehistory and early history, art history/applied arts (the most extensive stock), paintings/pictures, maps, photographs, postcards and a library collection (second-largest stock). The permanent exhibition covers archeology, urban models from various phases of the town’s history, Lübben as an administrative center, trades and crafts, local raw materials, Paul Gerhardt, the Spreewald in winter and the Wendish people.

The National Socialist history of the museum collection, which was maintained in close cooperation with the Brandenburg museum keepers Oskar Karpa and Georg Mirow up to 1944, was not researched. One of the museum’s receipt documents originating from this period—from 1933 to the end of 1935—does not give any precise information about the origin of the objects, which is why the provenance of all the objects mentioned in it had to be classified as unclear to begin with: for the historic stock of 20 objects that still exist today, the year of acquisition was clarified as far as possible and checks were carried out as to whether, in all probability, there was any possibility that the object could be Nazi-confiscated property.

There were suspicions relating to objects that were obviously of Jewish provenance (including a jug with the inscription “Lübben synagogue”). However, for the existing Sorbian/Wendish objects (mostly books and writings, sometimes rare books) and other items which, in view of their previous owners, may very well have been seized through persecution, there was still a lack of clarity regarding their fate during the Nazi period.

The total number of objects on which we sought to carry out in-depth provenance research originally amounted to 51 (eight Jewish objects, six Wendish books and objects with Sorbian or Wendish former owners, an item probably belonging to the Freemasons, 16 paintings recovered from the floor of the town council in 1945/46 and 20 objects from the collection’s historic stock pre-1945). Added to this were 16 other objects for which suspicions emerged during the research (e.g. through thorough examinations of objects or the inspection of files found in several archives).

The project in numbers

All the existing written object documentation relating to a total of 6,577 objects was examined for any kind of indication of Nazi-confiscated property. This included in Stock I Zoology 38 entries; in Stock II Botany 2 entries; in Stock III Geology and mineralogy 72 entries; for Stock IV Prehistory and early history 142 entries; for Stock V Cultural history up to 1945 2,198 entries altogether; for Stock VII Paintings, pictures, maps 931 entries; for Stock B Library 3,194 entries.

Stock VI Cultural history after 1945 was not relevant for National Socialist provenance research questions; likewise the Postcards and photographs stock with 2,256 items was not examined because it was deemed not to be significant (after samples were examined as part of the initial check).

Of the objects inspected thoroughly, i.e. those subjected to close visual examination, the ones academically documented were those that were relevant for the project, in order to remain within the limits of the project funding with regard to data collection and photographic documentation. All the recommendations of the initial check were thus taken into consideration.

The historic written object documentation that is still available was also systematically reviewed and checked, although many objects are no longer part of the present-day collection, mainly as a result of the war. However, from this we expected to find information on forms of acquisition, on protagonists and on other details that would be equally applicable to items from the old stock which were once again located in the collection from 1997 onward. The check included specifically 1,254 entries on the 1935 historic collection, 229 index cards from the Bialucha collection, 187 entries for items received for the Bialucha collection, 148 entries for the comparison list 1967–1977, 69 numbers for the acquisition list for material stocks of the town of Lübben 1977, in addition 135 + 9 + 12 + 13 items from the inventory lists of BHM Cottbus 1974.

For the same reasons, as well as to clarify the Nazi period of the Lübben museum, a total of 77 files (one had not yet reached the end of its retention period, so only partial information was permitted to be taken from it) were analyzed in six archives.

After the objects had been checked indirectly (i.e. through analyzing object documentation) and directly (i.e. thorough inspection), of the 6,577 and 2,056 items a total of 67 were classified as definitely worth exploring.

Of these 67 items, three were then assigned to the red category of “probably suspicious”: Inv. B 2516 and 2517 as unequivocally the prior possession of the Maćica Serbska, which was forcibly disbanded in 1937, and Inv. B 3154 as formerly belonging to the Catholic organization “Borromäusverein” in Lübben. 17 objects were assigned to the orange category of “questionable and requiring further research”. Various indicators make these objects still appear questionable, for example the circumstances of their discovery in 1945/46 (“on the floor of the town council”) or their entry into the collection in the years between 1935 and 1945, without any further details having been established based on files. We submitted reports on the objects in both categories to the Lost Art Database, thus clarifying the level of our knowledge.

The yellow category of “possibly questionable” contained 24 objects, and nine objects were assigned to the green category, “definitely not suspicious”.

There remained (a) three objects in focus that although constituting part of the museum’s suspicious historic stock, they had already been identified as missing when the collection was re-established in 1997 (i.e. after years of non-existence), and consequently were not incorporated into the restructuring of the museum.

Furthermore, there was (b) a remaining group of 11 paintings for which it was concluded that they should not only be examined as individual items, but also collectively as one lot (i.e. each with all the objects acquired in one and the same takeover or acquisition). All these paintings show inscriptions and numbers which are quite numerous to some extent, but which cannot be analyzed in their own right: viewing them in conjunction with possibly correlated inscriptions and numbers of other objects from the same source would be one way of analyzing them and would represent a systematic approach, as would be the checking of Nazi auction
catalogs and sales lists. However, the resulting additional effort could not be managed within the project period. Starting with the 11 paintings, further research would be required in the future that would build on that carried out in the approved project year.

List of persons and institutions that are historically relevant to the project

Karl Bialucha (1884–1961) Biology teacher from Oppeln (Silesia), botanist and voluntary head of the Lübben museum collection, reopened in 1950 as the “Cabinet of Natural History”. Bialucha’s systematic cataloging of objects and documentation of receipts did not start until 1955 and only continued consistently until 1958. He suffered long periods of illness in the following years until his death in 1961. After Bialucha’s term of office ended, a sole caretaker kept the Lübben museum open; after his retirement in 1969 the town’s museum collection was abandoned.

Albert Bock (1870–1943) Originally from Luckau, he was a businessman in Berlin. Bock was also a town councilor, a member of the voluntary fire service, the German Red Cross and the synagogue community, and the owner of two clothing stores in Lübben at Logenstraße 13 and Hauptstraße 46. His commercial circumstances became so precarious, particularly after the Nazi boycott of Jewish businesses in 1933, that he was forced to sell his entire warehouse of goods and even the establishment itself at knockdown prices. His wife Elise Bock then died in 1935. The property of widower Albert Bock was completely expropriated in October 1942 and he was deported to the Theresienstadt ghetto in December 1942, where he died on February 28, 1943. – The archeological items indicating the provenance “Bock” in the Lübben museum were not owned by him, but were consigned by relatives of the carpenter Max Bock (see below).

Max Bock (1900–1945) Son of the master carpenter Paul Bock. He died on February 4, 1945, as a non-commissioned officer in the German army during fighting at Crossen (Oder). All objects in the Lübben collection marked with the designation of origin “Bock estate”, “Bock collection” or “Mrs/Widow Bock”, mostly prehistoric and early historic items, come from his household at Kirchstraße 31. They do not come from family members of the Jewish business owner Albert Bock (see above), as was presumed at the beginning of the project. – Max Bock of Lübben should not be confused with the member of the armed forces and resident of Oppen with the same name, who was General of Infantry Division 11 until 1939 and after that deputy commanding general and commander of military district XX (Wehrersatzbezirk Danzig). This Max Bock was captured and held in a Soviet prisoner of war camp, where he died on November 12, 1945.

Dr. Gertrud Haupt (1887 or 1890–1955) Born in Lübben as Emilie Gertrud Haupt at Pflaumenstraße 7. Her father was a teacher. She herself was the head of the district cultural office (the “art and literature division of Lübben local authority education department” and “head of division for art and cultural affairs for the Lübben district”) from 1945 to 1953, and resident at Treppendorfer Straße 1. Shortly afterwards she fled the GDR. A retired teacher, she died after an accident in 1955 in Nienburg (Weser). Her initiative and knowledge brought numerous lost items from the ruins of the town or from the rooms of the town council into the museum collection as salvaged objects. To date, the exact chains of provenance—apart from the consignment—remain unknown in all of these cases. Her personal file is not available in the Brandenburg State Archive, nor in the Dahme-Spreewald district archive.

Dr. Oskar Karpa (1899–1963) Member of Berlin senior administrative council and initially the chair of the circle of associations of German local history museums. He became a member of the National Socialist Party on May 1, 1933, and museum keeper for the province of Brandenburg on November 23, 1936 (see Georg Mirow), which meant Lübben’s antiquities collection fell under his guardianship. From May 15, 1939, he was also the expert for the monitoring of works of art with regard to Jewish emigration, and from July 22, 1941, one of the experts for the utilization of Jewish-owned jewelry and art objects. Also from 1941, he was the National Socialist district archivist for Brandenburg. With the move of the Brandenburg provincial administration, his official office was located in Potsdam from September 1939 onwards. He began his post-war career in 1949 as ministerial speaker in the Lower Saxony Ministry of Culture and became the head of conservation for Lower Saxony in 1952.

Georg Mirow (1880–1954) Art teacher, museum director in Müncheberg and Lebus, from 1912 director of the association of Brandenburg local history museums, from 1920 editor of the “Brandenburgische Museumsblätter”. He voluntarily resigned from this role in 1933 after his removal from all offices by the National Socialists (due to his membership of the SPD) and refused to join the National Socialist Party. Nevertheless, in 1936 he became deputy museum keeper for the province of Brandenburg (see Oskar Karpa) and from 1944 head of the office for prehistory and early history. His scientific estate, which is now scattered over several archives, contains photographs that were taken in all museums in the province for the provincial administration’s regional photographic service from 1920, for systematic partial cataloging of museum pieces and for the “Complete catalog of Brandenburg local history museums” from 1942. Up to June 1944, the Lübben museum collection was systematically cataloged and documented in photographs under the direction of Georg Mirow. Together with Oskar Karpa, he also coordinated the air-raid protection safety measures for the Brandenburg local history museums until 1945.

Prof. Paul Richter (1861–1941) High school teacher until 1926, chronicler, local historian and museum director. Together with high school professor Dr. Ernst Fischer, he founded Lübben local history museum in 1905, one of the first in the Niederlausitz region. He was also the Chairman of the Lübben Masonic lodge “Wilhelm zur Wahrheit und Brudertreue” until it was forced to close itself down in 1934. He left behind exact descriptions of the occupation of the lodge house by the SA and of the destruction and seizure of lodge property. He held the post of museum director continuously from 1905 until his death in 1941.

Adolph Wilhelmy (1856–1930) Businessman and owner of a men’s clothing store in Lübben since 1902. He died in Berlin in 1930, before the National Socialists came to power. His successor was his son Willy Wilhelmy (1885–1960), who emigrated to England with members of his family.

Wilhelm Wolff (1849–1937) Businessman in Lübben, and at the same time a synagogue leader for over 50 years. He owned residential and business premises at Hauptstraße 16 in Lübben. His first wife Frieda (née Schneider) died in 1890; his second wife Johanna (née Pinner) worked with him in his business. His fabric goods shop, established in 1875, was affected by the Nazi boycott of Jewish businesses, so in 1936 the couple decided to move to a lodging house in Berlin (founded in 1921 by the B‘nai B‘rith Jewish organization) in Lange Straße. Wilhem Wolff died there a broken man on May 11, 1937. His brother and his children managed to emigrate. However, his wife Johanna was deported to Theresienstadt at the age of 83, where she died after just two weeks on August 31, 1942.

Transparency

Press and publicity work to date has included the following contributions on the initial check carried out at Lübben museum, which led to the long-term research project:

  • Feature on current provenance research in Brandenburg, in the “Zeitfragen” series (Deutschlandradio Kultur of June 24, 2015, by Maurice Wojach)
  • “Die Kunst-Detektive” article (MAZ, April 11/12, 2015, by Maurice Wojach)

An example of a text that emerged as a direct result of project funding is the essay on the Lübben Freemasons (in connection with the object suspected of being of Masonic origin from Schloss Neuhaus, museum director Dr. Richter, the occupation of the Masonic lodge by the SA and the lodge liquidation in 1934), which is expected to be published in the Beiträgen aus dem Schloss Lübben/Niederlausitz.

© Stadt- und Regionalmuseum im Schloss Lübben, Mai 2017

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Ermittlung der Provenienz aller Objekte der Lübbener Museumssammlung, bei denen Verdachtsmomente zu verfolgungsbedingtem Eigentumsverlauf zwischen 1933 und 1945 bestehen

Zuwendungsempfänger Stadt- und Regionalmuseum im Schloss Lübben Bundesland Brandenburg Website http://www.museum-luebben.de/ Ansprechpartner Projekttyp Langfristiges Projekt zur systematischen Prüfung von Sammlungsbeständen Projektlaufzeit
  1. Februar 2016 bis Januar 2017

Beschreibung

Ausgangsfrage und Zielsetzungen

Von Oktober 2014 bis Dezember 2014 war vom Museumsverband Brandenburg ein kurzfristiges Projekt zur Provenienzrecherche in Stadt- und Regionalmuseen des Landes Brandenburg durchgeführt worden (der sog. „Erstcheck“), finanziell gefördert von der Arbeitsstelle für Provenienzforschung. Im Rahmen dieses Projektes ist auch der Lübbener Sammlungsbestand erstmals auf Verdachtsmomente zu fraglichen Eigentumsverläufen zwischen 1933 und 1945 geprüft worden. Dabei sind besonders durch Inaugenschein­nahme mehrerer Objekte Fragen aufgetaucht, die sich beim Blick allein in die Kataloge und Inventare nicht ergeben hatten, z.B. zu auffälligen Vorbesitzer-Signaturen, wie Moreau Cohn, Wendische Kirche usw. Die Erstcheck-Einschätzung lag dem Deutschen Zentrum Kulturgutverluste seit 2015 vor, darauf baute die längerfristige Provenienzrecherche auf.

Das Lübbener Stadt- und Regionalmuseum wurde 1906 als Städtische Altertümer-Sammlung gegründet. Es ist nach Zerstörung und Kriegsende 1945 sowie seiner erneuten Beseitigung 1968 in den Jahren 1997–2001 zum dritten Male wiederentstanden. Seit 1997 sind insgesamt ca. 15.000 Objekte zurückgeholt oder neu erworben worden.

Die heutige Sammlung gliedert sich in Zoologie, Botanik, Geologie/Mineralogie, Ur- und Frühgeschichte, Kulturgeschichte/Kunstgewerbe (= umfangreichster Bestand), Gemälde/Bilder, Landkarten, Fotos, Postkarten/Ansichtskarten und einen Bibliotheksbestand (= zweitgrößter Bestand). Die ständige Ausstellung umfasst die Themen Archäologie, Stadtmodelle aus verschiedenen Phasen der Stadtgeschichte, Lübben als Verwaltungssitz, Handwerk und Gewerbe, einheimische Rohstoffe, Paul Gerhardt, Spreewald im Winter, Wendisches.

Die NS-Geschichte der Museumssammlung, die bis 1944 in sehr enger Abstimmung mit den Brandenburgischen Museumspflegern Oskar Karpa und Georg Mirow betreut blieb, war nicht erforscht. Eine aus dieser Zeit stammende Eingangsdokumentation des Museums – über den Zeitraum von 1933 bis Jahresende 1935 – macht über die Herkunft der Stücke keine genauen Angaben, weshalb zunächst alle darin genannten Objekte in ihrer Provenienz als unklar gelten mussten: Für die heute noch vorhandenen 20 Objekte Altbestand wurde nach Möglichkeit das Erwerbungsjahr geklärt und dabei geprüft, ob für sie verfolgungsbedingter Hintergrund, zumindest aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach, anzunehmen oder auszuschließen ist.

Es lagen Verdachtsmomente für Objekte offenbar jüdischer Provenienz vor (darunter eine Kanne mit der Aufschrift „Synagoge Lübben“). Jedoch auch bei vorhandenen sorbisch-wendischen Objekten (meist Bücher und Schriften, teilweise Rara) sowie weiteren Stücken, bei denen angesichts ihrer Vorbesitzerspuren ein verfolgungsbedingter Hintergrund vorliegen kann, herrschte Unklarheit über ihr Schicksal in der NS-Zeit.

Die Gesamtzahl der Objekte, für die wir vertiefende Provenienzforschung anstrebten, belief sich auf ursprünglich 51 Stück (= 8 jüdische Objekte + 6 wendische Bücher + Objekte mit sorbischen/wendischen Vorbesitzern + eine wohl freimaurerische Fundsache + 16 Gemälde, die 1945/1946 z.B. vom Boden der Stadtverwaltung geborgen wurden + 20 Objekte Altbestand der Sammlung vor 1945). Hinzu kamen 16 weitere Objekte, bei denen während der Forschungsarbeit Verdachtsmomente auftauchten (z.B. durch Autopsien am Objekt oder Sichtung der in mehreren Archiven zu findenden Akten).

Projekt in Zahlen

Geprüft wurde die gesamte heutige schriftliche Objektdokumentation zu insgesamt 6.577 Objekten auf jede Art eines Indizes für Raubgut. Dies umfasste im Bestand I Zoologie 38 Einträge, im Bestand II Botanik 2 Einträge, im Bestand III Geologie und Mineralogie 72 Einträge, für den Bestand IV Ur- und Frühgeschichte 142 Einträge, für den Bestand V Kulturgeschichte bis 1945 im Ganzen 2.198 Einträge, VII Gemälde, Bilder, Landkarten 931 Einträge, für den Bestand B Bibliothek 3194 Einträge.

Der Bestand VI Kulturgeschichte ab 1945 war für NS-Provenienzforschungsfragen unwesentlich, ebenso wurde der Bestand Postkarten, Ansichtskarten, Fotos mit 2.256 Posten wegen Geringfügigkeit (nach Stichproben im Erstcheck) nicht überprüft.

Von den autoptisch geprüften, d.h. in Augenschein genommenen Objekten wurden jene wissenschaftlich dokumentiert, die für das Projekt relevant waren, um bei Datenerfassung und Fotodokumentation innerhalb der Grenzen der Projektförderung zu bleiben. Alle Empfehlungen des Erstchecks fanden dabei Berücksichtigung.

Auch die noch greifbare historische schriftliche Objektdokumentation wurde systematisch durchgesehen und geprüft, obgleich viele Objekte v.a. kriegsbedingt nicht mehr Teil der heutigen Sammlung sind. Wir versprachen uns davon jedoch Angaben zu Erwerbsformen, zu Protagonisten und zu sonstigen Details, die für die ab 1997 erneut in der Sammlung befindlichen Stücke des alten Bestandes ebenso gültig wären. Die Prüfung umfasste im einzelnen 1.254 Einträge zum Altbestand 1935, 229 Karteikarten des sog. Bialucha-Bestandes, 187 Zugangseinträge des sog. Bialucha-Bestandes, 148 Einträge der Abgleichsliste 1967–1977, 69 Nummern der Aufnahmeliste für Materialbestände der Stadt Lübben 1977, dazu 135 + 9 + 12 + 13 Posten der Inventurlisten des BHM Cottbus 1974.

Aus denselben Gründen, wie auch zur Klärung der NS-Zeit des Lübbener Museums, wurden insgesamt 77 Akten (eine unterlag noch der Sperrfrist, daraus waren allein Teilauskünfte zulässig) in 6 Archiven ausgewertet.

Nach den indirekt (also durch die ausgewertete Objektdokumentation) und den direkt (also autoptisch) geprüften Objekten wurden von 6.577 + 2.056 Positionen insgesamt 67 als unbedingt überprüfenswert eingestuft.

Von diesen 67 Stücken wurden schließlich 3 Objekte zur Kategorie rot „vermutlich belastet“ gezählt: Inv. B 2516 und 2517 als eindeutiger Vorbesitz der 1937 zwangsaufgelösten Maćica Serbska, sowie Inv. B 3154 als ehemals zugehörig dem katholischen Borromäusverein in Lübben. Der Kategorie orange „zumindest bedenklich und weiter zu erforschen“ wurden 17 Objekte zugeordnet. Verschiedene Indizien lassen diese Objekte nach wie vor bedenklich erscheinen, so z.B. die Fundumstände 1945/46 („auf dem Boden der Stadtverwaltung“) oder ihr Sammlungszugang in den Jahren zwischen 1935 und 1945, ohne dass aktengestützt Näheres zu ermitteln gewesen wäre. Die Objekte beider Kategorien meldeten wir der LostArt-Datenbank und machten unseren Kenntnisstand damit transparent.

Auf die Kategorie gelb „nicht zweifelsfrei unbedenklich“ entfielen 24 Objekte. Zur Kategorie grün „zweifelsfrei unbedenklich“ konnten 9 Objekte gerechnet werden.

Es verblieb (a) ein Rest von 3 Objekten im Fokus, die zwar verdächtigen Altbestand des Museums darstellten, jedoch bereits beim Neuaufbau der Sammlung 1997 (also nach Jahren des Nichtbestehens) als fehlend festgestellt wurden, mithin gar nicht in die Neuaufstellung des Museums Eingang fanden.

Weiterhin entstand (b) ein Rest von 11 Gemälden, bei denen sich herausstellte, dass deren Überprüfung nicht nur am Einzelstück vorgenommen werden sollte, sondern konvolutweise (d.h. jeweils mit sämtlichen übernommenen Objekten ein und derselben Übernahme oder Erwerbung). Immerhin zeigen alle diese Gemälde Beschriftungen und Nummern, teilweise recht zahlreich, die für sich genommen jedoch nicht auswertbar sind: Erst in Zusammenschau mit möglicherweise korrelierenden Beschriftungen und Nummern anderer Objekte derselben Quelle wäre eine Möglichkeit der Auswertung und überhaupt eines systematischen Ansatzes gegeben, wie auch das Abprüfen von NS-Auktionskatalogen und -Verkaufslisten. Der dadurch aber entstehende Mehraufwand war innerhalb der Projektzeit nicht mehr zu bewältigen. Hier läge, von den 11 Gemälden ausgehend, noch zukünftiger Bedarf weiterer, an das bewilligte Projektjahr anknüpfender Forschung.

 

Auflistung der für das Projekt relevanten handelnden historischen Personen und Institutionen

Karl Bialucha (1884–1961) Biologielehrer aus Oppeln (Schlesien), Botaniker und ehrenamtlicher Leiter der Lübbener Museumssammlung, 1950 als sog. Naturkundliches Kabinett wiedereröffnet. Bialuchas systematische Objektkatalogisierung und Zugangsdokumentation setzte erst 1955 ein und bestand durchgängig nur bis 1958. Die folgenden Jahre bis zu seinem Tod 1961 waren durch lange Krankheitsphasen gekennzeichnet. Nach seiner Amtszeit wurde das Lübbener Museum einzig durch einen Hausmeister offengehalten; nach dessen Pensionierung 1969 blieb die städtische Sammlung verwaist.

Albert Bock (1870–1943) aus Luckau gebürtig, Kaufmann in Berlin. Stadtverordneter, Mitglied der Freiwilligen Feuerwehr, des DRKs und der Synagogengemeinde, sowie Besitzer zweier Konfektionshäuser in Lübben: Logenstraße 13 und Hauptstraße 46. Seine geschäftliche Situation wurde vor allem nach dem Boykottbeginn 1933 derart prekär, dass er sein gesamtes Warenlager und selbst die Einrichtung zu Schleuderpreisen verkaufen musste. Seine Ehefrau Elise Bock starb daraufhin 1935. Der Witwer Albert Bock wurde im Oktober 1942 gänzlich enteignet und im Dezember 1942 ins Ghetto Theresienstadt deportiert; dort kam er am 28. Februar 1943 ums Leben. – Die mit der Provenienz „Bock“ bezeichneten archäologischen Stücke im Lübbener Museum sind nicht aus seinem Vorbesitz, sondern durch Angehörige des Tischlers Max Bock (s.d.) eingeliefert worden.

Max Bock (1900–1945) Sohn des Tischlermeisters Paul Bock. Er kam am 04. Februar 1945 als Unteroffizier der Wehrmacht bei Kämpfen in Crossen (Oder) ums Leben. Alle mit der Herkunftsbezeichnung „Nachlaß Bock“, „Sammlung Bock“ oder „Frau/Witwe Bock“ bezeichneten Objekte des Lübbener Bestands, zumeist ur- und frühgeschichtliche Fundsachen, stammen aus seinem Haushalt in der Kirchstraße 31. Sie rühren nicht, wie noch bei Projektbeginn angenommen, von Familienangehörigen des jüdischen Geschäftsinhabers Albert Bock (s.d.) her. – Max Bock aus Lübben ist nicht zu verwechseln mit dem namensgleichen Oppelner Heeresangehörigen, der bis 1939 General der Infanterie-Division 11 und seitdem stellvertretender kommandierender General und Befehlshaber des Wehrkreises XX (Wehrersatzbezirk Danzig) gewesen ist. Dieser geriet in sowjetische Kriegsgefangenschaft und starb dort am 12. November 1945.

Dr. Gertrud Haupt (1887 od. 1890–1955) geboren in Lübben als Emilie Gertrud Haupt in der Pflaumenstraße 7, ihr Vater war Lehrer. Sie selbst war Leiterin des Kreiskulturamtes (der „Abt. Kunst und Literatur im Dezernat Volksbildung der Kreisverwaltung Lübben“ bzw. „Abteilungsleiterin für Kunst- und Kulturangelegenheiten des Kreises Lübben“) von 1945 bis 1953, wohnhaft in der Treppendorfer Straße 1. Kurz darauf wurde sie ‚republikflüchtig‘. Sie starb 1955 als Lehrerin im Ruhestand nach einem Unfall in Nienburg (Weser). Durch ihre Initiative und Kenntnis kamen etliche Fundsachen aus den Trümmern der Stadt oder aus Räumen der Stadtverwaltung als Bergungsgut in die Museumssammlung. In bisher keinem einzigen dieser Fälle sind – von der Einlieferung abgesehen – genaue Provenienzketten bekannt. Ihre Personalakte ist weder im Brandenburgischen Landeshauptarchiv noch im Kreisarchiv Dahme-Spreewald vorhanden.

Dr. phil. Oskar Karpa (1899–1963) Berliner Landesoberverwaltungsrat und zunächst Leiter des Rings der Verbände deutscher Heimatmuseen. Er war seit 01.05.1933 NSDAP-Mitglied, seit 23.11.1936 Museumspfleger für die Provinz Brandenburg (s. Georg Mirow), damit fiel in seinen Pfleg­schaftsbereich auch die Städtische Altertümersammlung der Stadt Lübben. Zusätzlich war er ab 15.05.1939 Sachverständiger für die Kontrolle des Kunstgutes bei jüdischer Auswanderung, ab 22.07.1941 einer der Sachverständigen für die Verwertung von Schmuck- und Kunstgegenständen aus jüdischem Besitz und ebenfalls ab 1941 Gauarchivar der NSDAP Mark Brandenburg. Mit Umzug der brandenburgischen Provinzialverwaltung befand sich sein Dienstsitz ab September 1939 in Potsdam. Seine Nachkriegskarriere begann er 1949 als Ministerialreferent im Niedersächsischen Kultusministerium. Er wurde 1952 Landeskonservator von Niedersachsen.

Georg Mirow (1880–1954) Zeichenlehrer, Museumsleiter in Müncheberg und Lebus, ab 1912 Geschäftsführer der Vereinigung Brandenburgischer Heimatmuseen, seit 1920 Redakteur der „Brandenburgischen Museumsblätter“, wobei er diese Aufgabe 1933 nach seiner Entfernung aus allen Ämtern durch die Nationalsozialisten (wegen SPD-Parteizugehörigkeit) freiwillig niederlegte und sich weigerte, in die NSDAP einzutreten. Dennoch wurde er 1936 stellvertretender Museumspfleger für die Provinz Brandenburg (s. Oskar Karpa) und ab 1944 Leiter des Amtes für Vor- und Frühgeschichte. In seinem heute über mehrere Archive versprengten wissenschaftlichen Nachlass befanden sich Fotoaufnahmen, die für die Landesbildstelle der Provinzialverwaltung ab 1920, für systematische Teil-Inventarisierungen von Museumsgut sowie für den „Gesamtkatalog der Brandenburgischen Heimatmuseen“ ab 1942 in allen Museen der Provinz entstanden: Bis 06/1944 wurde der Lübbener Museumsbestand unter Anleitung Georg Mirows systematisch katalogisiert und fotodokumentiert. Gemeinsam mit Oskar Karpa koordinierte er bis 1945 auch die Luftschutz-Sicherungsmaßnahmen der Brandenburgischen Heimatmuseen.

Prof. Dr. Paul Richter (1861–1941) Gymnasiallehrer bis 1926, Chronist, Heimatforscher und Museumsleiter. Er hatte 1905 gemeinsam mit dem Realschul-Professor Dr. Ernst Fischer das Lübbener Heimatmuseum gegründet, eines der ersten in der Niederlausitz. Zugleich war er Meister vom Stuhl der Lübbener Freimaurerloge „Wilhelm zur Wahrheit und Brudertreue“ bis zu ihrer erzwungenen Selbstauflösung 1934. Er hinterließ genaue Schilderungen über die Besetzung des Logenhauses durch die SA und über Vernichtung sowie Beschlagnahme von Logenbesitz. Das Amt des Museumsleiters hatte er durchgängig von 1905 bis zu seinem Tode 1941 inne.

Adolph Wilhelmy (1856–1930) Kaufmann, und seit 1902 Eigentümer eines Herrenkonfektions-Geschäftes in Lübben. Er starb, noch vor der nationalsozialistischen Machtübernahme, 1930 in Berlin. Sein Nachfolger wurde sein Sohn Willy Wilhelmy (1885–1960), der mit Familienangehörigen nach England emigrieren konnte.

Wilhelm Wolff (1849–1937) Kaufmann in Lübben, zugleich über 50 Jahre lang Synagogenvorsteher. Er besaß sein Wohn- und Geschäftshaus in der Hauptstraße 16 in Lübben. Seine erste Ehefrau Frieda geb. Schneider starb 1890, seine zweite Ehefrau Johanna geb. Pinner arbeitete mit im Geschäft. Sein 1875 gegründeter Stoffwarenladen war von den ‚Judenboykotten‘ betroffen, sodass sich die Eheleute 1936 entschlossen, nach Berlin ins Logenheim (gegründet 1921 vom jüdischen B‘nai-B‘rith-Orden) in der Langen Straße umzuziehen; dort starb Wilhelm Wolff am 11.05.1937 gebrochen. Seinem Bruder und seinen Kindern gelang die Emigration. Seine Frau Johanna jedoch wurde 83jährig nach Theresienstadt deportiert, wo sie nach nur zwei Wochen am 31.08.1942 verstarb.

 

Transparenz

Die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit umfasste bisher die folgenden Beiträge über den durchgeführten Erstcheck am Lübbener Museum, aus dem heraus die langfristige Forschung entstanden war:

  • Feature zur aktuellen Provenienzforschung in Brandenburg, in der Reihe Zeitfragen (Deutschlandradio Kultur vom 24.06.2015, von Maurice Wojach)
  • Artikel „Die Kunst-Detektive“ (MAZ vom 11./12.04.2015, von Maurice Wojach)

Als ein direkt aus der Projektförderung hervorgegangener Text ist der Aufsatz zur Lübbener Freimaurerei (in Verbindung mit dem verdächtigen wohl freimaurerischen Objekt aus Schloss Neuhaus, Museumsleiter Dr. Richter, der Besetzung des Logenhauses durch eine SA-Abordnung und der Logen-Liquidation 1934) zu nennen, der voraussichtlich in den Beiträgen aus dem Schloss Lübben/Niederlausitz veröffentlicht wird.

© Stadt- und Regionalmuseum im Schloss Lübben, Mai 2017