Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

The German-Jewish Art Dealer Family Julius, Selma, Hedy and Max Stern, and the History of the Stern Gallery, 1913-1987. Reconstructing fragmented Family and Business Records through international cooperation: The Stern Cooperation Project (SCP)

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte (München) State Bavaria Website https://www.zikg.eu/projekte/projekte-zi/stern-cooperation-project Contact person
  • Anne Uhrlandt
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionProjektkoordination
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAilscp@zikg.eu
Project type Long-term project Funding duration
  1. July 2018 to September 2019

Description

In July 2018, the initial phase of the „Stern Cooperation Project (SCP)“ started. The international project is focused on the history of the German art dealer family of Jewish origin Julius, Selma, Max, Hedi and Gerda Stern and on the business history of the Stern-owned galleries Galerie Stern (Düsseldorf), West‘s Galleries (London), and Dominion Gallery (Montreal) in the years 1913-1987.

* Max and Iris Stern looking at a poster advertising his lost art in 1952 Max and Iris Stern looking at a poster advertising his lost art in 1952 Source:  WELTKUNST, 08.1952, p. 18 (reproduced in Angel, Sara: The Secret Life of Max Stern, 2014, p. 15)


SCP thus enters terrain that has been the research field of the Max Stern Art Restitution Project (MSARP) since 2002. While MSARP – piloted by Dr. Clarence Epstein and Dr. Willi Korte – focusses on the return of individual art works that had been looted, SCP has a much broader mission: In transnational transdisciplinary cooperation, SCP attempts to reconstruct forced migration of both family and business. It provides strategies that aid researchers who face similar challenges in reconstructing trajectories of persecution as they affect individuals and enterprises. It is inevitable, however, that the findings of SCP intersect with provenance questions of the art world in relation to Nazi looted art, and specifically with the concerns of MSARP.

Call for Information

Institutions and individuals are being asked to provide information to the SCP regarding the Stern Family, their galleries and artworks.

Other projects of this institution

© Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, July 2018

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Die Kunsthändlerfamilie Julius, Selma, Hedy und Max Stern und die Geschichte der Galerie Stern, 1913 - 1987. Internationales Kooperationsprojekt zur Rekonstruktion einer exemplarischen deutsch-jüdischen Familiengeschichte: The Stern Cooperation Project (SCP)

Förderbereich NS-Raubgut Zuwendungsempfänger Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte (München) Bundesland Bayern Website https://www.zikg.eu/projekte/projekte-zi/stern-cooperation-project Ansprechpartner
  • Anne Uhrlandt
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionProjektkoordination
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAilscp@zikg.eu
Projekttyp Langfristiges Projekt zur Kontextforschung Projektlaufzeit
  1. Juli 2018 bis September 2019

Beschreibung

Das „Stern Cooperation Project (SCP)“ hat im Juli 2018 die Arbeit aufgenommen. Das Projekt beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte der deutschen Kunsthändlerfamilie jüdischer Herkunft Julius, Selma, Max, Hedi und Gerda Stern sowie der Firmengeschichte der Galerien, die von 1913-1987 im Besitz der Familie Stern waren: Galerie Stern (Düsseldorf), West‘s Galleries (London) und Dominion Gallery (Montreal).

* Max and Iris Stern looking at a poster advertising his lost art in 1952 Max and Iris Stern looking at a poster advertising his lost art in 1952 Quelle:  WELTKUNST, 08.1952, p. 18 (reproduced in Angel, Sara: The Secret Life of Max Stern, 2014, p. 15)

Damit betritt SCP ein Forschungsgebiet, das bereits seit 2002 durch das Max Stern Art Restitution Project (MSARP) untersucht wird. Während MSARP – unter der Leitung von Dr. Clarence Epstein und Dr. Willi Korte – sich auf die Identifizierung und Rückgabe einzelner geraubter Kunstwerke konzentriert, verfolgt SCP einen sehr viel breiter angelegten Ansatz: in internationaler und interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit versucht das SCP die verfolgungsbedingte Migrationsgeschichte sowohl der Familie als auch des Kunsthandels zu rekonstruieren. SCP entwickelt dabei Strategien, die Forscher*innen hilfreich sein könnten, die mit ähnlichen Herausforderungen bei der Rekonstruktion von Verfolgung sowohl von Individuen als auch von Unternehmen konfrontiert sind.

Die Rechercheergebnisse des SCP sind zwangsläufig mit den virulenten Fragen nach verfolgungsbedingt entzogenen Kulturgütern und nach NS-Raubkunst verknüpft, die derzeit verstärkt erforscht werden und die insbesondere auch für das MSARP eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Bitte um Informationen

Institutionen und Personen, die über Informationen zur Familie Stern, ihren Galerien und ihren Kunstwerken verfügen, werden gebeten, diese dem Projekt zur Verfügung zu stellen.

weitere Projekte dieser Einrichtung

© Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, Juli 2018