Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

Provenance research on the painting “Wolkenschatten” by Walter Leistikow

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Bröhan-Museum Berlin State Berlin Website http://www.broehan-museum.de/PROVENIENZ-FORSCHUNG Contact person
  • Dr. Anna Grosskopf
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionKuratorin
    Telephone: +49 (0) 30 326 906 21
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAila.grosskopf@broehan-museum.de
Project type Short-term project to investigate matter of current interest Funding duration
  1. April 2016 to June 2016

Description

In 1968, Karl H. Bröhan purchased the painting “Wolkenschatten” (Cloud Shadows) by Walter Leistikow (1902, oil on canvas, 74 x 100 cm) from a “private owner in Berlin”. The painting was gifted to the collection of the Bröhan-Museum by Karl H. Bröhan in 1982.

In August 2015, the Bröhan-Museum was presented with a restitution claim by the heirs of Oskar Skaller, a Berlin entrepreneur and art collector. This project intended to investigate the provenance of the painting between 1930 and 1968 and, if possible, fill in the remaining gaps in its provenance history. The aim was to clarify whether the painting “Wolkenschatten” had found its way into the art market as a result of Nazi persecution.

To begin with, research was conducted into the fate of the Skaller family during the Nazi period, particularly Oskar Skaller. His art collection and the whereabouts of its artworks were also the focus of investigations. Consignments to auctions prior to 1933 in the art salons of Paul Cassirer (1927) and Paul Graupe (1930) were examined and the identity of the work confirmed. Research on the auctioneer Rudolf Harms was hampered by missing business documentation.

A partial analysis of some of the fragmentary provenance markings remaining on the back of the painting ascertained that it had been included in exhibitions in Bremen and Zurich, among other locations.

© Bröhan-Museum Berlin, August 2016

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Provenienzforschung zu dem Gemälde „Wolkenschatten“ von Walter Leistikow

Zuwendungsempfänger Bröhan-Museum Berlin Bundesland Berlin Website http://www.broehan-museum.de/PROVENIENZ-FORSCHUNG Ansprechpartner
  • Dr. Anna Grosskopf
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionKuratorin
    Telefon: +49 (0) 30 326 906 21
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAila.grosskopf@broehan-museum.de
Projekttyp Kurzfristiges Projekt aufgrund von aktuellem Recherchebedarf Projektlaufzeit
  1. April 2016 bis Juni 2016

Beschreibung

Karl H. Bröhan erwarb im Jahr 1968 das Gemälde „Wolkenschatten“ von Walter Leistikow (1902, Öl auf Leinwand, 74 x 100 cm) „aus Berliner Privatbesitz“. Das Gemälde ging 1982 als Schenkung von Karl H. Bröhan in den Bestand des Bröhan-Museums über.

Im August 2015 wurde dem Bröhan-Museum ein Restitutionsersuchen der Nachfahren von Oskar Skaller, einem Berliner Unternehmer und Kunstsammler, zugestellt. Im Projekt sollten die Provenienzen zwischen 1930 und 1968 wissenschaftlich überprüft und bestehende Lücken bestenfalls geschlossen werden. Es sollte geklärt werden, ob das Gemälde „Wolkenschatten“ NS-verfolgungsbedingt in den Handel gelangte.

Zunächst wurde das Verfolgungsschicksal der Familie Skaller während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus, insbesondere von Oskar Skaller, erforscht. Seine Kunstsammlung und der Verbleib von Werken aus dieser standen ebenfalls im Fokus der Nachforschungen. Einlieferungen zu Auktionen vor 1933 in den Kunstsalons von Paul Cassirer (1927) und Paul Graupe (1930) wurden überprüft und die Werkidentität bestätigt. Recherchen zum Versteigerer Rudolf Harms waren durch fehlende Geschäftsunterlagen erschwert.

Die nur noch fragmentarisch vorhandenen Provenienzmerkmale auf der Rückseite des Gemäldes konnten teilweise ausgewertet und Beteiligungen an Ausstellungen unter anderem in Bremen und in Zürich ermittelt werden.

Die Ergebnisse dieses Provenienzforschungsprojektes werden auf der Website der Institution veröffentlicht.

Veröffentlichung

Provenienzforschung zu dem Gemälde „Wolkenschatten“ von Walter Leistikow. Bröhan-Museum, 2016 [Link]

© Bröhan-Museum Berlin