Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

Annotated online edition of five travel diaries (1939–1942) by Hans Posse in the Deutsches Kunstarchiv at the Germanisches Nationalmuseum

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg State Bavaria Website http://www.gnm.de/Kommentierte Online-Edition der fünf Reisetagebücher Hans Posses (1939–1942) International Research: Nazi-Era Cultural Property Contact person
  • Dr. Susanna Brogi
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionProjektleitung
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAils.brogi@gnm.de
Project type Langfristiges Projekt zur Grundlagenforschung Funding duration
  1. April 2017 to March 2019
  2. April 2019 to March 2020

Description

Part of the estate of art historian Hans Posse is held by the Deutsches Kunstarchiv at the Germanisches Nationalmuseum. Posse was the director of the Dresden Gemäldegalerie from 1910 until his death in December 1942 and was also Adolf Hitler’s special representative from summer 1939. He was appointed to build up a collection of art for Hitler’s planned “Führermuseum Linz” and was also in charge of organizing and implementing the distribution of Nazi-confiscated art to museums in the “Ostmark” (Austria) and other regions in the German Reich and the occupied territories. Among the contents of his estate are his duty diary and five travel diaries documenting his official trips as Hitler’s special representative. Posse’s five travel diaries are unpublished and largely unresearched.

The often poor legibility and use of abbreviations in the entries make analysis of the travel diaries very difficult for the reader. By contrast, the duty diary is much easier to read and understand. The travel diaries first need to be prepared before they can be researched, which is why they are the main focus of this research project. They will be transcribed, annotated, entered into a virtual research environment and published as digital editions. Wherever possible, the travel diary entries relating to people, institutions, places, works etc. will be annotated and identified by linking them to authority files in order to facilitate research into the documents. The aim of the edition project is to provide a key source on Nazi art theft and Nazi museum policy for provenance research and research into Nazi art policy.

© Germanisches Nationalmuseum, April 2017

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Kommentierte Online-Edition der fünf Reisetagebücher Hans Posses (1939-1942) im Deutschen Kunstarchiv am Germanischen Nationalmuseum

Förderbereich NS-Raubgut Zuwendungsempfänger Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg Bundesland Bayern Website http://www.gnm.de/Kommentierte Online-Edition der fünf Reisetagebücher Hans Posses (1939–1942) International Research: Nazi-Era Cultural Property Ansprechpartner
  • Dr. Susanna Brogi
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_FunktionProjektleitung
    Projektbericht_Ansprechpartner_EMAils.brogi@gnm.de
Projekttyp Langfristiges Projekt zur Grundlagenforschung Projektlaufzeit
  1. April 2017 bis März 2019
  2. April 2019 bis März 2020

Beschreibung

Das Deutsche Kunstarchiv im Germanischen Nationalmuseum verwahrt in seinen Beständen einen Teilnachlass des Kunsthistorikers Hans Posse. Posse war von 1910 bis zu seinem Tod im Dezember 1942 Direktor der Dresdner Gemäldegalerie und fungierte parallel dazu ab Sommer 1939 als Sonderbeauftragter Adolf Hitlers. In dieser Funktion war er sowohl für den Aufbau einer Kunstsammlung für das ‚Führermuseum Linz‘ zuständig als auch für die Vorbereitung und Umsetzung eines Verteilungsprogramms von NS-Raubkunst auf ‚ostmärkische‘ und weitere Museen im Deutschen Reich. Im Nachlass befinden sich unter anderem ein Diensttagebuch sowie fünf Reisetagebücher, die seine Dienstreisen als Sonderbeauftragter Hitlers dokumentieren. Die fünf Reisetagebücher Posses sind unveröffentlicht und waren vor Projektbeginn unerforscht.

Die Reisetagebücher sind eine zentrale Quelle zum NS-Kunstraub und zur NS-Kunst- und Museumspolitik. Ziel des Editionsprojektes ist es, diese Quelle in einer Online-Edition der Provenienzforschung, der allgemeinen Forschung zur NS-Kunstpolitik und der interessierten Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen. Zu diesem Zweck müssen die wegen ihres abbreviatorischen Stils und der fehlenden Kontextuierung nur schwer rezipierbaren Eintragungen erst aufgearbeitet und erschlossen werden. Die Reisetagebücher werden digitalisiert, die Einträge transkribiert, kommentiert, in eine virtuelle Forschungsumgebung eingepflegt und als digitale Edition veröffentlicht. Die Einträge zu Personen, Institutionen, Orten und Werken werden annotiert und, soweit dies möglich ist, durch die Verknüpfung mit Normdaten identifiziert.

© Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg, März 2018