Website of the German Lost Art Foundation

Acquisitions of the Linden Museum between 1933 and 1945

funding area Nazi confiscated art Grant recipient Linden-Museum Stuttgart State Baden-Wuerttemberg Project type Long-term project to systematically investigate collection holdings Funding duration
  1. April 2016 to March 2017

Description

The Linden Museum in Stuttgart is one of the most renowned ethnological museums in Europe. The cornerstone of its collections was laid in 1882 with the establishment of the “Wuerttemberg Association for Commercial Geography” and the efforts of its longstanding member Karl Graf von Linden (1838-1910). The Linden Museum was founded in 1911 under the aegis of the association. Between 1933 and 1945, the museum, headed by Heinrich Fischer (1868-1953) until 1943, acquired works from over 300 individuals and institutions. All of the items acquired during the period of 1933 to 1945 fall into the “yellow” provenance category according to the colour scale of the German Lost Art Foundation.

Following a preliminary assessment of the acquisition records, researchers have drafted a 25-point list with items for which there are grounds for suspicion and whose provenance requires more detailed investigation. These comprise 618 pieces which were acquired from ethnological museums or were purchased from private individuals. So far, researchers have only been able to identify two of these individuals as victims of Nazi persecution due to their Jewish heritage. There were also pieces obtained from research institutions and organisations in the Third Reich which had actively participated in the persecutory measures against the Jewish population. As a result, a total of 192 items have to be placed in the “orange” provenance category.

In addition to the previously mentioned museum director Heinrich Fischer, the ethnologist Robert Pfaff-Giesberg (1899-1984) also worked at the Linden Museum as an assistant from 1925 to 1935. His successor was Fritz Jäger (1907-1984) who continued working in that position until the 1950s.

The project’s findings will be presented in an article which will appear in the 2017 Linden Museum yearbook “Tribus”.

© Linden-Museum Stuttgart, 2016

Website der Stiftung "Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste"

Erwerbungen des Linden-Museums 1933-1945

Zuwendungsempfänger Linden-Museum Stuttgart Bundesland Baden-Württemberg Projekttyp Langfristiges Projekt zur systematischen Prüfung von Sammlungsbeständen Projektlaufzeit
  1. April 2016 bis März 2017

Beschreibung

Das Stuttgarter Linden-Museum gehört zu den bedeutendsten ethnologischen Museen Europas. Der Grundstein für die Sammlungen wurde vom 1882 gegründeten Württembergischen Verein für Handelsgeographie und seinem langjährigen Mitglied Karl Graf von Linden (1838-1910) gelegt. Unter der Trägerschaft des Vereins wurde 1911 das Linden-Museum gegründet. Zwischen 1933 und 1945 erwarb das Museum unter dem bis 1943 amtierenden Direktor Heinrich Fischer (1868-1953) Objekte von über 300 Personen oder Institutionen. Die Provenienzen dieser Objekte sind bislang nicht rekonstruiert. Alle Objekte, die im Zeitraum zwischen 1933 und 1945 erworben wurden, gehören demnach im Rahmen der Farbskala des Deutschen Zentrums für Kulturgutverluste zur Einstufung der Provenienzen in den gelben Bereich.
Nach einem Erstcheck wurde anhand der Eingangslisten eine Verdachtsliste mit 25 Positionen erstellt, deren Provenienzen im Rahmen des Projektes erstmals genau untersucht werden sollen. Dabei handelt es sich um 618 Objekte, die aus anderen völkerkundlichen Museen kamen oder von Einzelpersonen erworben wurden. Bislang ist bei zwei dieser Einzelpersonen bekannt, dass sie wegen ihrer jüdischen Herkunft verfolgt wurden. Weiter gab es auch Erwerbungen von Forschungsinstitutionen und Organisationen des Deutschen Reiches, die aktiv an den Verfolgungsmaßnahmen gegen die jüdische Bevölkerung beteiligt waren. Darum müssen insgesamt 192 Objekte gemäß der Farbskala im orangenen Bereich verortet werden.
Neben dem bereits erwähnten Museumsdirektor Heinrich Fischer war von 1925 bis 1935 der Ethnologe Robert Pfaff-Giesberg (1899-1984) als Assistent im Linden-Museum tätig. Sein Nachfolger wurde Fritz Jäger (1907-1984), der bis in die 1950er Jahre hinein im Amt blieb.
Die Ergebnisse des Projektes werden 2017 in einem Aufsatz im Jahrbuch „Tribus“, das vom Linden-Museum herausgegeben wird, publiziert.

Veröffentlichung

Mohr, Shammua Maria: Projekt „Erwerbungen des Linden-Museums 1933–1945“. 2017. [Link]

© Linden-Museum Stuttgart, 2016